• Welcome to the Provincial Website
  • Functions
  • Mandate

Southern Province is the third largest Province in Zambia, covering an area of 85,283 square kilometers.  The Province consist of thirteen (13) Districts, namely; Chikankata, Choma, Gwembe, Kalomo, Kazungula, Mazabuka, Monze, Namwala, Livingstone, Pemba, Siavonga, Sinazongwe and Zimba.  Among these Districts Pemba, Chikankata and Zimba are new districts.  The cost and Treasury Authority from the three (03) highlighted districts were granted and members of staff have since been employed as per the approved Establishment Register for Ministries and Provinces.

A home to Zambia’s premier tourist attraction, Mosi-oa-Tunya (Victoria Falls), shared with Zimbabwe. The centre of the province, the Southern Plateau, has the largest area of commercial farmland of any Zambian province and produces most of the maize crop.


In line with the Republican Constitution ( Amendment) No.02 of 2016 Article 150, establishes in each Province an Administrative Secretariat to be headed by the Provincial Minister, Permanent Secretary and other staff as prescribed.


The office spearheads political, economic and social mobilization for development in the province as a whole. The office of the Provincial Minister ensures the following:

  • That government policies are understood and implemented in the Province;
  • Mobilization of development resources of the Province;
  • Carrying out regular inspection tours of development activities in the Province; and
  • Maintenance of law and order throughout the Province.


According to the Constitution of Zambia Amendment Act, No 2 of 2016, the mandate of the Provincial Administration is to be the Provincial Secretariat which has an overall responsibility of the Province and performs other responsibility as prescribed.

Latest Updates